Identity

2 thoughts on “Identity”

  1. “O wad some power the giftie gie us tae see ourselves as others see us.”
    Wise words! We see ourselves as we are at any moment, and so it’s hard to pin down who “I” am except in terms of roles. Others seeing us from the outside get a fuller picture; they observe changes in our mood, behaviour, health over time, whereas we are always mainly in the here and now.
    Setting aside roles there still isn’t a single “me”. There’s happy me, bored me, angry or frustrated me. There’s me facing cancer treatment and there’s me with cancer behind me.
    The nearest I can get is me in the absolutely here and now, but it’s all I really need.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

