Anxiety

8 thoughts on “Anxiety”

  1. Anxiety is a fear response to what *might* happen, not what *is* happening. It feeds on itself. Your focus switches to the fear itself, not what triggered it. You then fear the fear.
    However, be assured that this does not mean that you are helpless. There are well-established strategies for containing, controlling and defusing phobic anxiety. I’m sure your team will be familiar with them and can help you to develop them.
    Using them I once took a group of eleven people with a phobia of flying on a flight from Manchester to Heathrow. They were all fine. I was a gibbering wreck because as we took off, it occurred to me that I had no idea what I would do if the therapy didn’t work. Mind you, I learned a valuable lesson. Aim for success but plan for failure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I experienced something similar a couple of weeks ago. I was out walking with my Mum and Sister (so not alone) and suddenly had the overwhelming feeling that I could walk no further, and wanted home – immediately. It took all my willpower not to sit down on the pavement and refuse to move, seriously. I found it confusing, because anxiety, surely, would drive me home as fast as I could go? Not sure why I wanted to sit on the pavement…

    Anyway, I’m glad you’ve been given some help to identify that it is one of your parts that is anxious, and not intrinsically you. And you have coping strategies too, which is good.

    Louise xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

