You have to help yourself

4 thoughts on “You have to help yourself”

  1. I think one of the hardest ideas to get across to some people who come to me for help is that I don’t have a magic wand. I have tools I can give them….but that the tools won’t work if they are never used…..and that means taking responsibility for getting better. Some people sadly are not ready to get better……..To hear someone with your problems putting forward tis idea will I hope inspire others to realise what can be done if they really want to are are prepared to take responsibility for their own health and well being. Bravo Jen!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reminded me of a post I wrote, one of a similar tone:

    https://imillnotcrazy.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/rock-bottom-my-light-bulb-moment/

    I used to think someone, somewhere had all the answers. I used to expect everyone else to do all the work, and that one day I’d be cured. Sadly, it doesn’t work that way. Professionals have the tools, the means by which we may make a difference to our own lives, but we have to meet them halfway. I think understanding this is key to recovery, albeit something I’ve had to re-learn several times over!

    Best wishes x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

